I Weep For Kesha

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 8.36.44 PMSexual assault is very under-reported, and while I can’t tell you exact statistics on abuse in the workplace, I can tell you that is does happen.

Musician, Kesha, hasn’t made any new music in two years. Why you ask? Because she came forward with reports on sexual, verbal, and emotional abuse from her producer, Dr. Luke (Lukasz Gottwald) since she was 18. His production company is a part of Sony.

On Friday, February 19, Kesha attended court to break free of her contract, so she no longer has to work with her abuser. Unfortunately the judge ruled there wasn’t enough evidence and she lost her case. She is stuck in her contract and stuck having to go through the emotional trauma of being forced to work with her abuser.

These are the stories I sob about at night. These are the women I pray for multiple times a day. These are the women my heart and the Lord call me to heal and empower. When things like this happen, I cry.

I volunteer as Social Media Director with Still Standing, an organization dedicated to empowering sexual assault survivors. I have a life goal of traveling to India to work with women in the sex slavery industry. A lot of my love, passion, and thoughts are for women who have dealt with abuse.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 8.38.08 PMWhen instances like this occur, I can’t help but feel useless. It sets us back, it makes my words of encouragement mean nothing. I can’t lie to women and tell them that they will always win their rights. This is proof of that. I can’t sit here and try to encourage women to share their survivor stories when this type of injustice is what causes the severe lack of underreporting. 

I weep for Kesha. I weep for the women who deal with this. Kesha publicly came forward to inspire other women to do the same. When she lost her case, it humiliated her. Why does a business care more about money than people? Why do we allow such businesses operate like that?

I don’t have the answers, but I desperately wish I did. Celebrity or not, at the end of the day she is a woman. Her body is a temple that should not be tarnished by evil. While I am a wreck for her, all I can think to do is approach her in love. Approach all survivors in love. I don’t cry for myself, I cry for them.

-B

*Author’s Note: Support Kesha by using the hash-tag: #FreeKesha

Leave a Reply

