Year End Reflections -How Bad Was 2016?

pexels-photoFace it, we are all totally ready for 2016 to just end already. At the strike of midnight, we will collectively cheer and cry happy tears because we are banking on the hope that we can only go up from here.

Globally, 2016 was pretty awful. Politics worldwide just failed everyone (US Presidential Election and Brexit to name a few), cities completely destroyed (Aleppo), and our favorite celebrities passing (Alan Rickman, Prince, David Bowie, Carrie Fisher, Debbie Reynolds, etc.). Not to mention the disaster that was Standing Rock, our own citizens in Flint, Michigan without clean water, police brutality still on a high, racism surfacing all over the nation, and we can’t forget those weird clowns.

But, world issues aside, how truly horrible was 2016 for you? Since I can’t personally answer for you, maybe my own personal reflections can help you through yours.

I spent a lot of this year saying how much I “hated” it. I have been ready for it to be over since basically March. As I sit back, however, my 2016 wasn’t too bad. I set four major goals for myself and completely crushed three of them (weight loss is always one that’s difficult). I spent so much time reflecting on what was going wrong to not look at all the rad things bustling around me.

I won’t get too much into my goals because I don’t want to seem like I’m bragging, but a good portion of this year I thought they were silly and I was in too big over my head. As a spiritual person, I had to really rely on my faith and the Lord’s favor to carry me to the destinations where I am needed. They weren’t always where I wanted to be, but if I didn’t visit, I wouldn’t have been molded into who I am meant to become.

So let me ask you again, how truly horrible was 2016 for you?

You don’t have to dig too deep because it could really just be one of those years where nothing went right. We all have those and it’s nothing to be ashamed of -because honestly have you ever read a New York Best Selling novel that didn’t have some sort of conflict? So if all of this applies, let me challenge you to write down on a piece of paper three things that weren’t so bad.

Were you cleaning and found $20 bill randomly in the couch? Write it. Was there any moment you stepped out of your comfort zone? Write it. Did your favorite artist release a new album that just spoke to you? Write it. Nothing is off limits.

Laugh in the face of negativity and conquer 2017 because even when you feel like no one is on your team, you have silent warriors all around you. Be that light the world needs, open your ears to opposing opinions, and above all, wherever you go, go in love. Here’s to a fresh beginning, because we all deserve it after 2016.

Have a Blessed and Beautiful New Years,

-B

Leave a Reply

